For each of the following items, decide whether you agree or disagree. Then, give a brief one-two sentence reason/explanation of why you agree/disagree for each.  In your response, you do not have to re-type the statement; simply put "1. I agree with the statement because..." and so on.    Remember, never post your full name (first and last) online.  Post your first initial and full last name or vice versa.  This comment is due by midnight October 29 for full credit.

1. It is never right to kill another person.
2.  Political leaders usually act in the best interest of their countries.
3.  If a political leader has done something wrong, it is allowable to get rid of him or her by whatever means necessary.
4.  "Power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely."
5.  In certain situations it may be justified for a political leader to bend or break the law for the good of the country.
6.  People should never compromise their ideals or beliefs
7.  "My country right or wrong" is not just a slogan; it is every citizen's patriotic duty.
8.  No cause, political or otherwise, is worth dying for
 9.  "Cowards die many times before their deaths; the valiant taste of deathbut once."
10.  "The evil that men do lives after them; the good is often buried with their bones."

Keep these concepts and your opinions of these concepts in mind as we read Julius Caesar.
Natalie W
10/12/2010 01:08:46 pm

1) I disagree with this statement because i believe it is okay to kill someone in self-defense and/or when protecting a loved one.
2)I disagree with this statement because sometimes i wonder if political leaders really care about their country or if they just want the power and fame.
3)I disagree because i do think that we have the right to revolt against our political leaders and try to get them out of office, but everyone makes mistakes- i don't think it's necessary to take them out of office if the mistake is not significant.
4)I agree with this statement because i think that as humans, when we get a little bit of power we want more and more-i think it's just in our nature.
5)I disagree with this statement because the law is in place to benefit the country therefore if a political leader breaks the law then it wouldn't be good for the country.
6)I agree with this statement because if you compromise your values and beliefs , eventually it will hurt you, and people will loose respect for you too.(ex. giving into drinking, smoking)
7)I disagree with this statement because as much as i love living in America, we are not perfect and all the decisions that we(the people/government)make are not always the best.
8)I disagree with this because if you are passionate about a certain religion for example, i think that it shows your dedication to that group or religion.
9)I'm not sure exactly what this means, but if i'm understanding it correctly, then i would agree with this statement because i think that it is saying that cowards always want to find the easy way out and/or not participate and they only get the ''easy way out'' once , which is death-they aren't faced with hard decisons when they're dead.
10)I disagree with this statement because i think that people definitely remember you if you were a good person and you had a positive influence on people, on the other hand i think people also remember if you were evil and negatively influenced the world.

Doris
10/13/2010 07:10:44 am

1. I disagree with this statement because I believe that under very rare circumstances, it would be somewhat just to kill someone.
2. I disagree, I do not think that leaders act in the best interest of their country; however, I do believe that they should act in their country's best interest.
3. I disagree, I do think that leaders who have done wrong should be disposed of, or removed from the position of power, but I think that "by whatever means necessary" is too extreme.
4. I completely agree, I think that the majority of people, if given power or a position of power, run a very high risk of being corrupted by that power. I think that if said person were to be given an even larger or stronger amount of power, they would definitely be corrupted to some extent.
5. I agree, if in breaking this law a leader is truly helping the vast majority of their people, then I find breaking a law or two completely legit. Although, I do not think these decisions are very black and white, it would probably be a much bigger debate when an actual situation arises.
6. I strongly disagree, I think that people should often compromise their ideas or beliefs, especially if it is needed to placate the group or the whole. I do not, however, think that people should abandon their beliefs entirely while doing this; people should simply learn when to tone down, adjust and be accepting to the modest beliefs of others and be able to meet others "half-way" with their own ideas.
7. I disagree, I have no comment on patriotism.
8. I disagree strongly, I believe that there are many just causes that are worth dying for. If you strongly feel for or believe in a cause you should be prepared to die for it if necessary. Although this comment might seem to contradict my answer for #6, it does not. This particular answer is assuming we do not live in an ideal world (which we don't) and that a time comes where we would need to make the decision on whether our causes or belief is worth dying for.
9. I agree, I think this means that a coward dies constantly. I think those that live in fear are dying over and over again due to this fear or betrayal of self and because of their flight or avoidance of certain situations. I think this is saying that the coward constantly kills him or herself and that the brave will die only once (which would be in their ultimate defeat or in death itself).
10. I agree with this also. I think a prime example would be Adolf Hitler, his evils have long outlived him, as do all of the little evils (like bullying that provokes suicides)caused by everyday men and women. On the other hand, good deeds don't always last long. Often fleeting, the good deeds people do aren't often recognized as much, and are sadly forgotten.

Maggie M
10/25/2010 10:57:04 am

1. I disagree because I think its ok to kill in self defense of if you're protecting someone.
2. I disagree because I think that a lot of leaders get caught up in their power.
3. I disagree; you need to get ride of them, but you can't just kill them off.
4. I agree because I think people become consumed by how much power they have.
5. I disagree because if you expect other people to follow the rules, you have to also.
6. I disagree because if your willing to give it up, you never really believed it in the first place.
7. I disagree because everybody messes up.
8. I disagree because if you really believe or love something that much it would be worth it.
9. I agree because cowards never get to live because they're always so scared.
10. I disagree because I think many times people just overlook the evil and remember the good.

A Kite
10/27/2010 09:40:12 am

1. I agree because I think that it wrong to kill folks no matter what the circumstance.
2. I disagree because I think that sometimes leaders do things with their best interest at mind, not always the country's.
3. I disagree. I think that you need to get rid of them, but you do not have to kill someone just to get rid of them.
4. I agree. I think that power goes to people's head, and the more power someone has, the more it goes to their head.
5. I disagree because the law is there for a reason and just becuase you're a leader and you think it's for the best, doesn't mean you can break the law.
6. I agree, because you shouldn't abandon you're beliefs, no matter what the circumstance.
7. I disagree, because we aren't perfect.
8. I disagree, there are many things worth dying for. If you love someone or something, you'll die for it.
9. I agree, because cowards are never really even living if they are always scared to do stuff.
10. I disagree because I think all the things you do are burried with you. Both the good and the bad.

F. Gemechu
10/27/2010 10:53:19 am

1). I disagree, with that statement there are many cases where you may have to kill someone to live or escape yourself . Ex. rape , kidnapping
2). I disagree, their are political leaders who use their position to gain a personal benefit.
3). I agree, the political leader could be a dictator and the people might not know anything better.
4). I agree, too much power is not good that is one reason presidents in America can only run two terms, if they get too powerful then they might become a tyrant.
5. I agree, if he is doing it for the benefit of the people and only with good intentions.
6. I agree, that is one of the reasons people move to America so that they can practice what they believe . If you abandon your beliefs then that is not being your true to yourself.
7. I disagree, many people hate the countries they come from; some countries do not have just laws.
8. I disagree, If you are fighting for something you believe in and your rights are being taken.
9. I disagree, cowards do not die they just dont take the lead and stand up for what they believe, they do not die they are hiding .
10. I disagree, I think death is like a new birth after the person dies the evil dies with them but if they have done something good then that is what lives on.

Ansley
10/27/2010 11:00:52 am

1) Disagree, although I would agree most of the time. I think, like Doris said, rarely would it be just. Like if someone murdered someone they might get the death penalty, etc.
2) Disagree, it would be great if that were true though. I think a lot of times, leaders can be self-serving and prideful.
3) Disagree, not by "any means necessary" at least. I don't think you should kill someone because they made a small mistake.
4) Disagree sometimes, Agree often. Because some people can manage power well and humbly. Some, on the other hand, get a little crazy.
5)Disagree, because a leader should uphold integrity.
6)Agree, if you really believe in something you shouldn't just abondon it.
7)Disagree, because no body is perfect even as hard as we may try.
8)Disagree, if there's nothing on this earth you love enough to die for then what's the point of living?
9)Agree, because being a coward doesn't let you live life to the fullest. It only holds you back.
10)Disagree, because you know like at a funeral nobody mentions the bad...only the good.

Alex B
10/27/2010 11:36:43 am

1. Agree because I don't think it is ever justifiable to take another person's life.
2. Disagree because a lot of the times, leaders are selfish and not thinking about the good of everyone in the country.
3. Disagree. It's okay to take someone out of office, but that is not a reason to use "whatever means necessary."
4. Agree because the more power you have, the more power you think you need to stay happy and content.
5. Disagree because a leader sets the example for his followers and if he breaks a law, then his followers may think it's okay for them.
6. Agree because if you sincerely believe that, then you should be willing to stand up for it and defend it.
7. Disagree because mistakes happen and we aren't always perfect.
8. Disagree. It depends on what the cause, but some things are worth dying for.
9. Agree because if cowards are constantly living in fear and never "do anything," then are they truly living?
10. The way I interpret this is that if someone does something awful in their lifetime, more people will remember that than the good they did, which will be buried with them. So I guess this one could go either way...

Joanne J.
10/27/2010 11:55:31 am

1. Disagree. Sometimes under the necessary circumstances, killing would be justified to defend yourself or a loved one.
2. Disagree, no one's completely selfless and I think sometimes leaders can make the mistake of doing things to further themselves and not the country.
3. Agree to an extent. I believe it is necessary to remove a leader that has deliberately done something wrong but removing them through extreme measures isn't right.
4. Agree. Power goes to everyone's head.
5. Agree, although I believe that the people should have a say in it too.
6. Agree, our beliefs make us who we are. If we give them up we lose what makes us, us.
7. Disagree, sometimes our country might be making a mistake and we should stand up and correct it.
8. Disagree, if you lived according to what everyone told you to, you wouldn't really be living anyway. Some causes are worth believing and dying for.
9. Agree. To truly live, you need to take chances instead of being scared of everything.
10. Disagree, I believe both the evil and the good lives after them unless the evil is so bad that it contradicts anything they did that was good.

Pauly K
10/27/2010 12:38:50 pm

1) It is right to kill somebody else, until someone you're close to is killed, then it's terribly, terribly wrong and you realize that it is never right to kill somebody.
2) I am not informed enough to make this kind of judgment on leaders whose policies I am not aware of.
3) What actions "whatever means necessary" constitute? If by peace is unattainable, violence is necessary. So, yes, I agree.
4) Yes I agree, power is that pretty, shiny object, similar to lust. It won't go away if you keep feeding it.
5) How can one person decide what is best for the country? The laws determine what is best, and laws were created by many people. One person cannot possibly overthrow what took many years to establish.
6) I think I agree, because you will never compromise your belief. Nobody can force you to stop believing something, so there is no compromise.
7) I agree, America is a pretty good country to live in.
8) I disagree.
" "I don't want to scare you," he said, "but I can very clearly see you dying nobly, one way or another, for some highly unworthy cause." He gave me a funny look. "If I write something down for you, will you read it carefully? And keep it?" "
The following quote, by Wilhelm Stekel, was written down by Mr. Antolini and given to Holden :
"The mark of the immature man is that he wants to die nobly for a cause, while the mark of a mature man is that he wants to live humbly for one."
The first quote is from The Catcher in the Rye, whereas the second is from Wilhelm Stekel as above stated. What difference does a death make to promote a cause? Live a life that inspires this cause. You can't do anything to help when you're dead.
9) Perhaps it is a bold thing to be assertive and aggressive, but perhaps the cowards are the smarter of the two. Perhaps the Valiant die a more fulfilling death, but perhaps also they live a shorter life. See above.
10) I disagree. People are good with evil tendencies, so the 'good' is average/normal, and the spurts of "evil" are abnormal or erratic. Since humans are generally good with evil tendencies, the good reputation will overcome the bad.

K.Findley
10/29/2010 07:05:45 am

1. I diasgree with this statement because I think you should kill someone if its self-defense or you are defending a family member or someone you love.

2. I disagree with this statement because some political leaders don't even care about their country, all they care about is publicity.
3. I agree because what ever the political leader did wrong, it will cause a disgrace to our country.
4. I agree because the more power a person gets, there is a high chance of things being corrupt.

Patrick A
11/2/2010 11:23:01 am

1. I agree with this because even if you are defending yourself, you do not have to use lethal force.
2. I agree with this statement because being a leader is not a fun job. For example, the president is very popular but he is also very disliked. No one would run for office if they only cared about themselves because they would not like to receive that kind of criticism. They do it for the interest of their country.
3. I disagree because everyone makes mistakes. For example, look at our leader on the Auburn University Football team. He made a pretty big mistake, but he has done an outstanding job with his second chance. Sometimes, a leader has to make mistakes so he can learn from them.
4. I agree with this statement, because it is in human nature to want more of something that is good.
5. I disagree with this statement. The laws were put into place for a reason, and everyone has to follow them. No exceptions, or things could go very bad. Suddenly people say, "Well if he doesn't have to follow the laws, why do I?"

6. I agree with this statement. Your beliefs are some of the most important things about you. If you compromise them, then you are not the same person anymore and have gone too far.
7. I disagree with this statement. This kind of goes along with giving up your beliefs. You should do things for the good of your country until the day that your country wants you to give up your beliefs for the good of the country.
8. I disagree with this statement. You should always fight for your beliefs even if it means death.
9. I agree, because cowards never get to do the things that they want. They give up their beliefs too easily and never live life the way they are supposed to. They are afraid of failure, but everyone fails at some point. That is why the valient only die once, because they are always standing up for what they believe in.
10. I disagree, because both are left behind. People always seem to see the bad in things and not the good.

K.Findley
11/2/2010 11:26:48 am

5. I disagree with this statement because, if a political leader bends or breaks a law for the better of our country, then it won't be fair to everyone else.
6. I agree with this statement because,no matter the situation or problem, you shouldn't stray away from your beliefs or ideals.
7. I disagree with this statement because, everyone isn't perfect and everyone makes mistakes.
8. I agree and disagree with this statement, it is all base upon what the cause is.
9. I agree with this staement because,if your are a coward you can't defend yourself in a bad situation, but you if you are bold,you can over power a lot of bad situations.
10. I srongly agree with this statement, because just like my great-grandmother used to always say, your name goes ahead of you, which means,if you have a good reputation, people are always going to know you as a good person, but if you're always in trouble, you are going to have a bad reputation and be known to be a trouble maker whether you are living or dead.

Jenny H.
11/2/2010 10:49:45 pm

1. It is never right to kill another person.
2. Agree. Political leaders are leaders of their countries for a reason.
3. Disagree. Whatever means necessary shouldn't be used.
4. Disagree. Absolute power has worked for some countries in the past.
5. Disagree. Laws are for everyone to follow.
6. Agree. It's about doing the right thing.
7. Disagree. Everyone makes mistakes!
8. Disagree. There are way too many people who died for their countries.
9. Diagree. Facing death is definitely not a cowardly thing to do.
10. Agree. Many people are known for their bad over their good.

Jessica P.
11/3/2010 12:57:18 pm

1. I agree. I believe that it is never right to kill another person because i believe that everyone does wrong/sins, and everyone is forgiven for what they have done. I think that no one should be punished by death unless it is absolutely needed.
2. I agree. Political leaders usually act in the best interest of their countries because thats what their job is. The country depends on their leader to do what is best, and a leader is like a voice for a larger group of people.
3. I disagree. I think if a political leader has done something wrong, it is allowable to let him go, but not get rid of him or her by whatever means necessary. I dont think he'she should be murdered.
4. I agree with this statement. I believe that power sort of can get in the way if one person has too much of it.
5. I disagree. I believe that everyone should follow the laws no matter what their status is.
6. I agree. I feel that People should never compromise their ideals or beliefs becuase what a person believes shows who they are individually.
7. I disagree because i believe that everyone makes mistakes.
8. I disagree because people everyday die for our country and i think they are brave and honorable.
9. I disagree because i think death can be a scary topic so i believe people who die for their country are brave, not cowards.
10. I agree. I think that everyone leaves something behind when they die and takes stuff with them as well. Like people will remember you for good or bad.


Comments are closed.